Meeresfakten und -zahlen

2012 FAKTEN UND ZAHLEN
24/04/2012: Fakten und Zahlen zur Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik – statistische Basisdaten 2012 (Europäische Kommission)

DIE FISCHEREIKRISE

* Laut wissenschaftlicher Studien hat sich die Biomasse der Raubfische im Nordatlantik zwischen 1900 und 2000 um mehr als 80 Prozent verringert. (Quelle: Dr Villy Christensen, University of British Colombia, Kanada)

* Die Nordsee zählte zu den reichsten Fischgründen der Welt: 1995 produzierte sie fünf Prozent der weltweiten Fischanlandungen. Seither sind die Fänge von 3,5 Millionen Tonnen jährlich auf unter 1,5 Millionen Tonnen in 2007 gesunken. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Merkblatt zur GFP. 2008)

* 93 Prozent des in der Nordsee gefischten Kabeljaus werden gefischt, bevor sie das Alter der Geschlechtsreife erreichen. Ein Kabeljau kann vierzig Jahre und mehr alt werden, wenn er Überlebenschancen hat. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Grünbuch zur Reform der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik. 2009)

* Die EU-Flotte hat sich seit der letzten Reform in 2002 jährlich um zwei bis drei Prozent verringert. Die Einschätzungen gehen aber dahin, dass die Reduzierung sich durch technologischen Fortschritt und höhere Effizienz der Fischereiflotte neutralisiert hat. Diese „technische Neuerung” liegt Berechnungen zufolge bei rund zwei bis vier Prozent jährlich. (Quelle: European Kommission , Überlegungen zu weiteren Reformen der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik. 2008)

* Zwischen 1995 und 2005 sind die EU-Fänge in Lebensgewicht nach Eurostat-Zahlen um 30 Prozent gesunken. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Überlegungen zu weiteren Reformen der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik. 2008)

* Die Gesamtbeschäftigung im EU-Fischereisektor sank zwischen 1997 und 2005 um 23 Prozent (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Diagnose des EU-Fischereisektors. 2010)

* Über 60 Prozent der in der EU konsumierten Fischereiprodukte werden jetzt importiert (Quelle: European Kommission, Überlegungen zu weiteren Reformen der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik. 2008)

* Für mehrere Mitgliedsstaaten wird geschätzt, dass die Kosten für Fischfang in den öffentlichen Haushalten den Gesamtwert des Fangs übersteigen. Das heißt, dass europäische Bürger ihren Fisch doppelt bezahlen: im Laden und noch einmal über ihre Steuern. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Grünbuch zur Reform der Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik. 2009)

* Laut Schätzungen wurden EU-Fischereisubventionen in Höhe von 27.000 Euro pro Beschäftigtem und Jahr (2001 – 2006) an Mitgliedsstaaten wie Schweden, Polen und Spanien gezahlt. (Quelle: Poseidon Aquatic Resource Management Ltd und Pew-Umweltgruppe, FIFG 2000–2006 Shadow Evaluation. März 2010)

* Von den rund 400.000 im EU-Fischereisektor Beschäftigten arbeiten rund 141.110 im Fischfangsektor; das entspricht weniger als 0,1 % der Erwerbstätigen in der EU. Spanien, Griechenland und Italien stehen für 60 % der Beschäftigung im Fangsektor. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Fakten und Zahlen zur Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik, 2010)

* Das im EU-Fischereisektor generierte Gesamteinkommen 2005 betrug 10,9 Milliarden Euro. Dies entspricht 0,1 % des europäischen BIP. Ein Großteil des Einkommens konzentriert sich auf eine kleine Zahl von Küstengebieten (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Diagnose des EU-Fischereisektors. 2010)

* Innerhalb der EU sind Spanien und Dänemark voluminal die größten Erzeuger. Spanien ist zudem der weitaus größte Empfänger der EU Fischereifonds; das Land erhält nahezu die Hälfte der EU-Subventionen und nutzt über die Hälfte der EU-Fischereiabkommen mit Drittländern.

* Die EU-Fischereiflotte besteht aus circa 85.000 Schiffen, die vom kleinen Fischerboot bis hin zu großen, weltweit operierenden Fabrikschiffen variieren. Spanien verfügt nach Größe und Leistung über die größte Flotte in der EU. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Fakten und Zahlen zur Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik, 2010)

 ENTWICKLUNGEN IN DER WELTWEITEN FISCHEREI

Die Fangleistung eines 13 Meter-Trawlers hat sich in 30 Jahren von 1965 bis 1995 um 260 % erhöht. Quelle: Sissenwine and Symes, Überlegungen zur Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik.

Graph

* Das Diagramm oben zeigt den Anstieg der Fischfangkapazität (sowohl nach Anzahl der Schiffe als auch nach Fangleistung) zwischen 1970 und 2005, während im gleichen Zeitraum die Fangmenge sank. (Quelle: The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity, Weltbank und FAO. 2008)

* Die weltweiten jährlichen Fischereisubventionen werden auf einen Betrag zwischen $ 30 und $ 34 Milliarden geschätzt. Mindestens $ 20 Milliarden jährlich werden für die Unterstützung der Fangleistung, wie Schiffskraftstoff etc., aufgewendet. Diese umweltschädlichen Subventionen entsprechen 25 Prozent des Wertes des weltweiten Fischfangs. (Quelle: Pauly, D. und R. Sumaila. 2006. Catching more bait: A bottom-up re-estimation of global fisheries subsidies. University of British Columbia, Fisheries Centre Research Report. Vol. 14, No. 6)

* Bis zu 90 Prozent der Großfische in den Weltmeeren, so genannte Raubfische, wurden in fünfzig Jahren abgefischt. (Quelle: Myers, R. A. und Worm, B. Rapid worldwide depletion of predatory fish communities, Nature, 2003)

WICHTIGSTE FISCHFÄNGE IN DER EU

* Der EU-Gesamtfang in 2007 betrug 5.135.540 Tonnen und macht die EU nach China und Peru zum drittgrößten Fischerzeuger weltweit. Die führenden Fischereiländer sind Spanien, Dänemark, das Vereinigte Königreich und Frankreich, die zusammen für die Hälfte des Fangs stehen. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Fakten und Zahlen zur Gemeinsamen Fischereipolitik, 2010)

* In der EU beinhalten 63 Prozent der Anlandungen Arten, die den TACs (zulässige Gesamtfangmengen) unterliegen. Der Rest des Fangs wird ohne jegliche Quote gefischt. 44 Prozent betreffen pelagische Arten (Hering, Sprotte, Blauer Wittling, Makrele, Stöcker, Sardellen, Schwertfisch und Blauflossenthun). 19 Prozent sind demersale Arten (Sandaal, Kabeljau, Seehecht, Scholle, Kaisergranat, Seelachs, Schellfisch, Stintdorsch, Wittling, Seezunge, Seeteufel, Tiefseegarnelen, Flundern, Rochen, Schwarzer Heilbutt, Kliesche, Flügelbutt, Schnabel-Rotbarsch, Pollack, Steinbutt, Glattbutt und Lachs). (Quelle: Europäisches Parlament, Gemeinsame Fischereipolitik – ein praktischer Leitfaden. 2009)

* Zwischen zehn und sechzig Prozent des Fangs, je nach Fischerei, werden als unerwünschter Fang tot oder sterbend ins Meer zurückgeworfen. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Merkblatt zur GFP. 2008)

* Für die Nordsee wird der jährliche Rückwurf auf 500.000 bis 800.000 Tonnen geschätzt. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission, Merkblatt zur GFP. 2008)

 FISCHEREIPARTNERSCHAFTSABKOMMEN

* Die EU hat über 20 Fischereiabkommen mit Drittländern geschlossen, von denen aktuell 15 mit Entwicklungsländern in Kraft sind. Die EU zahlt für den Zugang zu ausländischen Fischgründen, hauptsächlich in Westafrika, rund 150 Millionen Euro jährlich. (Quelle: Europäische Kommission)

* Das größte Abkommen mit einem Wert von 86 Millionen jährlich besteht aktuell mit Mauretanien. Dies entspricht einem Drittel des Staatshaushalts des Landes. Auch das Abkommen mit Guinea-Bissau liegt in der Größenordnung von einem Drittel des dortigen Staatshaushalts. (Quelle: Schwedische Naturschutzvereinigung. 2009)

* Das kontroverseste Abkommen besteht zurzeit mit Marokko (36,1 Millionen Euro jährlich), da es auch Gewässer des besetzten Territoriums der Westsahara einschließt.

* In den meisten Abkommen zahlt die EU 90 Prozent der Zugangsgebühren und die privaten Schiffseigner nur zehn Prozent. Über fünfzig Prozent der Abkommen werden von spanischen Schiffseignern genutzt. (Quelle: Schwedische Naturschutzvereinigung. 2009)

Sea facts and figures

2012 FACTS AND FIGURES
24/04/2012: Facts and figures on the Common Fisheries Policy – Basic statistical data 2012 (European Commission)

THE FISHERIES CRISIS

* According to scientific studies the biomass of predatory fish in the North Atlantic has declined by over 80 percent between 1900 and 2000. (Source: Dr Villy Christensen, University of British Colombia, Canada)

* The North Sea has been one of the richest fishing grounds in the world: in 1995 it produced five per cent of total world fish landings.  Since then, catches have fallen from 3.5 million tonnes a year to less than 1.5 million tonnes in 2007. (Source: European Commission, Factsheets on the CFP. 2008)

* 93 percent of cod fished in the North Sea are fished before they reached the age of sexual maturity. A cod can become forty years or more if it has the chance to live. (Source: European Commission, Green Paper on the Reform of the Common Fisheries Policy. 2009)

* The EU fleet has reduced by about two to three per cent per year since the last reform in 2002. However, it is estimated that this reduction has been neutralised by technological advances and increased efficiency in the fishing fleet. This “technological creep” is calculated to be in the range of two to four percent per year. (Source: European Commission Reflections on further reform of the Common Fisheries Policy. 2008)

* Between 1995 and 2005 EU catches in live weight have decreased by 30 per cent, according to Eurostat figures. (Source: European Commission, Reflections on further reform of the Common Fisheries Policy. 2008)

* Total employment in the EU fisheries sector decreased by 23 percent between 1997 and 2005 (Source: European Commission, A diagnosis of the EU fisheries sector. 2010)

* More than 60 percent of fisheries products consumed in the EU are now imported. (Source: European Commission Reflections on further reform of the Common Fisheries Policy. 2008)

* In several Member States it has been estimated that the cost of fishing to the public budgets exceeds the total value of the catches. This means that European citizens pay for their fish twice: once at the shop and once again through their taxes. (Source: European Commission, Green Paper on the Reform of the Common Fisheries Policy. 2009)

* According to estimates, EU fisheries subsidies have been given to member states such as Sweden, Poland and Spain to the value of more than 27 000 euro per employee and year (2001-2006). (Source: Poseidon Aquatic Resource Management Ltd and Pew Environment Group, FIFG 2000–2006 Shadow Evaluation. March 2010)

* Of the around 400 000 people employed in EU fisheries sector, around 141,110  are employed in the fish catching sector; this is less than 0.1% of total employment in the EU. Spain, Greece and Italy account for 60% of employment in the catching sector. (Source: European Commission, Facts and Figures on the Common Fisheries Policy, 2010)

* The total income generated by EU fisheries sector in 2005 was 10.9 billion euros. This is 0.1% of EU GDP. Most of the income is concentrated in a small number of coastal areas. (Source: European Commission, A diagnosis of the EU fisheries sector. 2010)

* Within the EU, the biggest producers in terms of volume are Spain and Denmark. Spain is also the far greatest recipient of fisheries funds, receiving almost half of EU subsidies, and using more than half of the EU fisheries agreements with third countries.

* There are approximately 85.000 vessels in the EU fishing fleet, varying from small artisanal boats to large factory ships operating across the globe. Spain is the largest fleet in the EU in terms of the size and power of the fleet. (Source: European Commission, Facts and Figures on the Common Fisheries Policy, 2010)

DEVELOPMENT IN WORLD FISHERIES

The fishing power of a 13 meter trawler increased by 260% in 30 years from 1965 to 1995.
Source: Sissenwine and Symes, Reflections on the Common Fisheries Policy.

Graph

* The graph above clearly shows the increase of fish catching capacity (both in terms of number of vessels and fishing power) between 1970 and 2005, while at the same time the amount of catches fell.  (Source: The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity, World Bank and FAO. 2008)

* Global fisheries subsidies are estimated at between $30 and $34 billion annually. At least $20 billion per year go to supporting fishing capacity, such as boats fuel etc. These harmful subsidies equal more 25 percent of the value of the world fish catch. (Source: Pauly, D. and R. Sumaila. 2006. Catching more bait: A bottom-up re-estimation of global fisheries subsidies. University of British Columbia, Fisheries Centre Research Report. Vol. 14, No. 6)

* Up to 90 percent of all the worlds oceans big fish, so called predators, have been fished out in fifty years, according to scientists (Source: Myers, R. A., and Worm, B. Rapid worldwide depletion of predatory fish communities, Nature, 2003)

KEY EU FISH CATCHES

* Total catches in the EU in 2007 totalled 5 135 540 tonnes, making the EU the third largest fisheries producer in the world, after China and Peru. The leading fishing countries are Spain, Denmark, UK and France, which together account for half the catches.  (Source: European Commission, Facts and Figures on the Common Fisheries Policy, 2010)

* In the EU, 63 percent of landings involve species subject to TACs (Total Allowable Catches). The rest of the catches are fished without any quotas. 44 percent are pelagic species (herring, sprat, blue whiting, mackerel, horse mackerel, anchovy, swordfish and bluefin tuna). 19 percent  are of demersal species (sandeels, cod, hake, plaice, Norway lobster, saithe, haddock, Norway pout, whiting, sole, monkfish, Northern prawn, flounder, rays, Greenland halibut, dab, megrims, beaked redfish, pollack, turbot, brill and salmon). (Source: European Parliament, the Common Fisheries Policy – a practical guide. 2009)

* Between ten and sixty percent of catches, depending on the fishery, are thrown back into the sea as unwanted catch, either dead or dying. (Source: European Commission, Factsheets on the CFP. 2008)

* In the North Sea the annual discards are estimated at 500 000 to 800 000 tonnes. (Source: European Commission, Factsheets on the CFP. 2008)

FISHERIES PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS

* The EU has more than 20 fisheries agreements with third countries, of which currently 15 are into force with developing nations. The EU pays around 150 million euro a year for access to foreign fishing grounds, mainly in western Africa. (Source: European Commission)

* The biggest agreement is currently with Mauretania, worth 86 million euros a year. That corresponds to one third of the country’s state budget. Also the agreement with Guinea-Bissau is in the order of one third of the country’s state budget. (Source: Swedish Society for Nature Conservation. 2009)

* The most controversial agreement is presently the one with Morocco, (36.1 million euros a year) since it also includes the waters of the occupied territory of Western Sahara.

* In most of the agreements the EU pays 90 percent of the access fees, and private ship owners only ten percent. More than fifty percent of the agreements are utilized by Spanish ship owners. (Source: Swedish Society for Nature Conservation. 2009)